Disable restore tabs in Google Chrome

Google Chrome doesn’t work the same way on all machines. On some machines, you can close the program with fifteen or twenty tabs open, and when you restart, you get a clean slate. On other machines, Chrome remembers all of the tabs and re-opens them. The latter behavior is a problem if, like me, you use Quit to clean house after accumulating a lot of tabs over time. Here’s the solution:

  1. Go to Chrome settings (wrench->Settings or chrome://chrome/settings/)
  2. Under “On startup”, select “Open the New Tab page”
  3. That’s it!